×

How to deactivate a Twitter account

Every so often you may think that social media platforms are all getting a bit much. You may feel the time has come to delete one or two of them.

Twitter is a social media platform that has been around for ages, over a decade in fact. It tends to broadcast the views of people who have the most followers, and you may want to simply opt out of it all.

Here’s how to deactivate your Twitter account

After you have decided to delete your Twitter account, they require you to first deactivate it. BY deactivating your account your account is placed in a queue. You will be here for 30 days and after that time Twitter will simply delete it for you. At this point there is nothing for you to do.

You need to first deactivate the account:

Go to Twitter

  • Either go to the app or the website.
  • Click settings and privacy on the mobile app.
  • On the website you will need to go to the ‘More’ button.
  • Look for ‘Account’ or ‘Your account.’ You will find these in Settings and Privacy.

Deactivate your account

  • Look under ‘Your account’ and you will see on the right-hand side several options. 
  • Select the ‘Deactivate your account’ option.
  • After you have read the deactivate information, simply click ‘Deactivate.’

Confirm your password

Before anything else happens, you need to confirm your password. Type it in and hit confirm that you want to deactivate the account. You do this by clicking the ‘Deactivate’ button.

Now what?

If you do not log in again within 30 days, your account will be deleted permanently. This means that all your information will disappear. Your username will however be available for someone else to use.

What does deactivating do?

It means that your display name, @username, and any public profile will no longer be visible to anyone on Twitter.

Note: if you change your mind and want to restore your account you must be sure to do this within 30 days. If you do not do it your account will be permanently deleted.

Tags:

1

Go Back to Previous Page