×

Job Details

Live In Spinal Injuries PA/Carer

Bexley, DA5 1HZ £1,260 Weekly, Competitive Salary, Contract

Posted: 6 days ago

Description:

COVER REQUIRED

17.01.22 to 31.01.22

What's on offer here?

• Well organised PA/Carers position assisting fun, young, tetraplegic, 41 Yr old, married, mum of 2 boys, 9 and 13 yrs.

• Excellent £180 per day / £1,260 weekly pay rate, based on 10 hr days.

• Work pattern 2 weeks on/off - To be a flexible part of a team working around with one or two others. 10 hours daily. Flexibly as some quieter day’s make up for other busier days.

• Spacious bedroom and own bathroom on 1st floor of converted bungalow in lovely, picturesque village in Kent.

• Only 40 mins from London Bridge.

About me

Hi, I am a 41-year-old, happily married with 2 Young Boys ages 9 and 13. I suffered a spinal cord injury back in 2015 and I'm now C5/ C6 tetraplegic. I'm now paralyzed from the chest down and have limited hand function, but don't let my disability define me.

I work part-time 20 hours a week currently from home subject to COVID-19, tending to do 4 hours a day from home 10-2pm. While I’m working PA/Carers tend to light housework, the family's laundry, tidying and take a break. A great setup here where a double up, domiciliary Carer helps 3 times a week with the main housework & ironing and covers the PA/Carers break.

After work I enjoy collecting the children from school, taking them to after school activities or to the park etc and sometimes socialize with friends or family.

What am I looking for?

• I need someone proactive, self-organized, punctual, hard-working, hygienic and thorough.

• Someone who empowers client centered care. Who listens and gives me the autonomy to direct my own care.

• Sociable, friendly and approachable.

• Comfortable and relaxed around children.

• Must be confident and competent driver with at least 1 years driving experience.

• Non-smoker.

• Communication is key in this role and therefore a high level of English both speaking and understanding is essential.

Required Experience/Training

• Spinal Injuries Training & experience (6months to 1 year minimum)

• Bowel Management (Manual evacuation, suppository insertion and stimulation.)

• DBS check essential (I can apply/process if new one required.)

• 1/2 references from previous client or agency. (Not essential)

• Due to the nature of this role, it is an occupational requirement that applicants are female.

• Right to work check Share code or Pre-Settlement Status or UK Passport

• Full UK or EU driving license - Confident driver (Automatic Vehicle)

• Double Vaccinated Essential

Brief Daily Duties

• Morning and evening routines including bowel Management, dressing, showering.

• Cleaning and tidying of my bedroom and bathroom after routine.

• Keeping on top of the family's laundry.

• Putting hoover around & mopping the floors.

• Keeping kitchen & bathrooms clean and tidy.

• Come with me to collect children from school.

• Preparing and Cooking of meals with me.

I have a great system setup here whereby my needs care wise and the PA/Carers work and break needs are both met any treated fairly. Flexibility is key and appreciated as some days, breaks are split into shorter more frequent slots and other days are in much larger time periods dependent on the day's activities.

I am a bubbly; chatty person and I can confidently communicate my care needs. I will patiently teach PA/Carers how I like my care to be, and I need a PA/Carer to listen intently and follow my instructions. I do not need or like a PA/Carer to take over or take control.

I live life to the full, regardless of disability and don’t let it define me. I need & appreciate the support of a good PA/Carer to assist me to do this, so it is very important to me that I attract a great PA/Carer, to comfortably integrate into and around our family.

If you’re interested, please contact me and send me a brief cover note about yourself and why you are suitable for this position?

Look forward hearing from you.

Job Details

LIVEINPABEX2
17/01/2022
Full Time
Contract
£1,260 Weekly, Competitive Salary
11/12/2021